The International Cricket Council (ICC) has now clarified the follow-on rule for the India vs New Zealand WTC Final 2021. There was a doubt among fans whether there’ll be a change in the follow-on rule if play is washed out on Day one of the WTC final.
The confusion over the follow-on rule was created after an extra day was added to the India vs New Zealand five-day Test match as a reserve day. The ICC had also made it clear that if the Ind vs NZ WTC Final ends in a tie or draw, the trophy will be shared between both the teams.
READ | England’s Ollie Robinson Suspended From International Cricket, Pending Disciplinary Investigation
As per a report in Cricbuzz, ICC has decided that the follow-on rule will not change if play is washed out on Day One of the WTC final.
According to Cricbuzz, ICC has said, “Clause 14.3 has been amended so that the first innings lead of at least 200 runs will only change to 150 runs if no play takes place on the first and second scheduled days of the match. Normally this will occur if only the first day’s play is lost, but with the provision of a reserve day, it remains a 5-day match even if the first day is lost.”
ICC also elaborated on player review.
“Player Review – this is a new standard playing condition. Previously the playing conditions prevented a player from asking the umpire any questions before launching a review which led to the unreasonable loss of a review when the player and umpire had a different opinion on whether a shot had been played. This has been changed to allow either the fielding captain or the dismissed batter to ask the umpire whether a genuine attempt has been made to play the ball prior to deciding whether to initiate a player review,” the ICC noted.
Source link